REPORT OF THE CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS COMMITTEE

May 17, 2025

TO: HOUSE OF DELEGATES

TENNESSEE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

SUBMITTED BY: M. KEVIN SMITH, MD, CHAIR

The Tennessee Medical Association (TMA) Constitution & Bylaws Committee ("C&B Committee" or "Committee") did not meet since the 2024 TMA House of Delegates. M. Kevin Smith, MD, served as Chair and Timothy Wilson, MD, served as Vice Chair.

The 2024 TMA House of Delegates did not refer any resolutions to the Committee for study or action prior to the 2025 TMA House of Delegates. No matters were referred to the C&B Committee by the TMA Board of Trustees.

<u>Approval of 2024-2025 Constitution & Bylaws</u>. The Committee reviewed and approved via electronic means, the 2024-2025 TMA Constitution & Bylaws as amended by Bylaw Amendment Resolution 01-24, passed by the 2024 House of Delegates. That Resolution addressed eligibility for TMA officers and committee chairs.

The amendment to Bylaw Chapter IV, Section A.3 requires that, in order to be eligible to serve as president-elect, speaker, and vice speaker, one must be an active dues-paying member and possess a current Tennessee medical license.

The amendment to Bylaw Chapter IV, Section A.6 requires that, in order to be eligible to serve on the Board of Trustees, one must be an active dues-paying member for the three previous years prior to election and possess a current Tennessee medical license.

The amendment to Bylaw Chapter V, Section 2 requires that Board of Trustees positions, other than student and resident seats, are required to be held by active dues-paying members who have a current Tennessee medical license and, *either* have served as a component society officer or committee member, or have graduated from TMA's leadership program.

The amendment to Bylaw Chapter V, Section 7 requires that, in order to be eligible for a TMA committee chair position, one must be an active dues-paying member of TMA for three years immediately prior to appointment and possess a current license to practice medicine in Tennessee.

CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS COMMITTEE

Page 2

- 1 Bylaw Amendment Resolution 01-24 also provided policy direction for the implementation of
- 2 the Bylaw changes for individuals whose terms began immediately following the 2024 House
- 3 of Delegates.

4

- 5 I wish to thank all the members for their willingness to serve and express appreciation to our
- 6 Board liaison and our staff liaison for their assistance and information.

Respectfully submitted,

M. Kevin Smith, MD, Chair

2024-2025 Constitution and Bylaws Committee

M. Kevin Smith, MD, Chair Brian Waggoner, MD Eddie Reynolds, MD Timothy Wilson, MD, Vice Chair Caley Spotts, MD Walter Fletcher, MD Maro Doce John McCarley, MD, Board Liaison Yarnell Beatty, TMA Staff Liaison