REPORT OF THE PHYSICIAN WELLNESS COMMITTEE

May 17, 2025

TO: HOUSE OF DELEGATES TENNESSEE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

SUBMITTED BY: EDWARD CAPPARELLI, MD, CHAIR

The Physician Wellness Committee was formed at the 2023 Tennessee Medical Association 1 2 (TMA) House of Delegates meeting via Resolution 02-23. The purpose of the Committee is 3 to remove the stigma of mental illness so physicians are encouraged to seek help before they 4 reach a crisis. A secondary goal is to identify programs and processes that promote wellness 5 for both urban and rural physicians. 6 7 Since its establishment, the Committee has met quarterly to evaluate opportunities to 8 improve access to mental health support statewide. Such activities include: 9 compiling a list of wellness-related questions hospital systems can use on • 10 employment applications in lieu of current stigmatizing questionnaires; 11 promoting the Tennessee Medical Foundation's physician screening questionnaire in • 12 both TMA and specialty societies; assessing the feasibility of establishing a statewide hotline managed by the 13 Tennessee Psychiatric Association 14 15 assessing the feasibility of establishing state-based wellness programs that TMA may • offer to its members; and 16 17 building upon the 2024 Tennessee Wellness Law • 18 19 Efforts to improve mental health access for physicians remain ongoing; however, progress is 20 being made on the legislative front. Physician Wellness Committee members, Drs. Reeves 21 Johnson and Michael Baron, successfully passed legislation this session that allows state 22 licensing boards to issue conditional licenses to applicants who disclose past mental health 23 diagnoses during a confidential preliminary review, provided they agree to successfully 24 complete a peer assistance program. These actions would not be reportable to the National 25 Practitioner Data Bank, thereby helping to reduce stigma for physicians. This law passed the

26 Tennessee General Assembly on April 16, 2025, and will take effect immediately.

Respectfully submitted,

Edward Capparelli, MD, Chair

2024-2025 Committee Members

• Edward Capparelli, MD, Chair

• Arthur Townsend, MD

Committee Report No. 10 Page 2

- Deborah Christiansen, MD
- Desiree Burroughs-Ray, MD
- Harry Severance, MD
- Jim Lancaster, MD
- Cynthia Rector, MD
- Mary Jane Brown, MD
- Michael Baron, MD
- Michael Kodsi, MD

- Michelle Cochran, MD
- Mukta Panda, MD
- Reeves Johnson, MD
- Sapna Kripalani, MD
- Lauren Favors, MD, Resident/Fellow Section
- Amber Shirley, Student Section
- Erika Thomas, Staff Liaison