REPORT OF THE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

May 17, 2025

TO: HOUSE OF DELEGATES

TENNESSEE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

SUBMITTED BY: PAMELA MURRAY, MD, CHAIR

1 The Education Committee is comprised of 14 members and is chaired by Dr. Pamela Murray. Dr.

2 Nicole Schlechter serves as the Tennessee Medical Association (TMA) Board Liaison for the

3 committee.

4

7

5 The role of the Education Committee is to provide oversight for TMA's Accreditation Council for

6 Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) accreditation and accredited programs. Additionally, the

committee reviews and recommends TMA's other educational, leadership, and general

8 education programs and activities.

9

Since April 2024, TMA has provided, or jointly provided, over 30 continuing education programs, reaching over 1,000 learners.

12 13

On April 7, 2025, the Tennessee Department of Health signed a contract with TMA to provide their accreditation services for at least 20 programs over the next two years.

141516

Additional 2024-2025 TMA CME partnerships include:

17 BeaconLive

18 Belmont University

19 Eleos Journey

20 Goals of Care Coalition New Jersey

21 OrthoSouth

22 St. Jude Children's Hospital

23 Tennessee Medical Foundation

24 University of Tennessee – Haslam

25 Upper Cumberland Medical Society

26 Vascular Institute of Chattanooga

27 Williamson County Medical Society

28 29

30

31

- Key TMA educational programs are funded under the umbrella of Tennessee Foundation for Quality Patient Healthcare (TFQPH). The Opioid Abatement Council (OAC) Task Force has continued to work diligently on their prescriber education content, planning to launch Fall 2025.
- 32 The 2025 Ingram Institute Leadership Lab is halfway through and will conclude in August. The
- 33 2025 Immersion Program will begin in June.

COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 8

Page 2

- 1 The committee is excited about the focus on education within TMA and is committed to
- 2 providing quality education that serves the needs and identified learning gaps for physicians in
- 3 Tennessee.

Respectfully submitted,

Pamela Murray, MD, Chair

2024-2025 Committee Members

Pamela Murray, MD, Chair
Martha Shepherd, DO, Vice Chair
Amanda Stoltz, MD
Darinka Mileusnic-Polchan, MD
Ellen Fowler, MD
Giri Korivi, MD
Harry Severence, MD
Jennifer Winbigler, MD
Samantha McLerran, MD
Steven Johnson, MD
Lauren Favors, MD, Resident Fellow Section
Anisha Dash, Medical Student Section
Nicole Schlechter, MD, PhD, TMA Board Liaison

Beth Lentchner, TMA Staff Liaison